You are invited to submit nominations for the 2020 Caspar Bowden Award for Outstanding Research in Privacy Enhancing Technologies.

The Caspar Bowden PET award is presented annually to researchers who have made an outstanding contribution to the theory, design, implementation, or deployment of privacy enhancing technology. It is awarded at the annual Privacy Enhancing Technologies Symposium (PETS), and carries a cash prize as well as a physical award monument.


Any paper by any author written in the area of privacy enhancing technologies is eligible for nomination. However, the paper must have appeared in a refereed journal, conference, or workshop with proceedings published in the period from April 1, 2018 until March 31, 2020.


Note that we do not accept nominations for publications in conference proceedings when the dates of the conference fall outside of the nomination window. For example, a IEEE Symposium on Security and Privacy (“Oakland”) paper made available on IEEE Xplore prior to the March 31 deadline would not be eligible, as the conference happens in May. Please note that PETS is associated with a journal publication, PoPETs, so any PoPETs paper published in an issue appearing before the March 31 deadline is eligible (which typically means only Issue 1 of the current year).


Anyone can nominate a paper by sending an email message to containing the following:

  • Paper title
  • Author(s)
  • Author(s) contact information
  • Publication venue and full reference
  • Link to an available online version of the paper
  • A nomination statement of no more than 500 words.


All nominations must be submitted by April 5, 2020. The award committee will select one or two winners among the nominations received. Winners must be present at the PET Symposium in order to receive the Award. This requirement can be waived only at the discretion of the PET advisory board.

The complete Award rules including eligibility requirements can be found at


Caspar Bowden PET Award Chairs (


Ross Anderson, University of Cambridge

Simone Fischer-Hübner, Karlstad University


Caspar Bowden PET Award Committee


Erman Ayday, Bilkent University

Nataliia Bielova, Inria

Sonja Buchegger, KTH

Ian Goldberg, University of Waterloo

Rachel Greenstadt, NYU

Marit Hansen, Unabhängiges Datenschutzzentrum Schleswig Holstein –ULD

Dali Kaafar, CSIRO

Eran Toch, Tel Aviv University

Carmela Troncoso, EPFL

Matthew Wright, Rochester Institute of Technology


More information about the Caspar Bowden PET award (including past winners) is available at